Here's a quick rundown of important things you need to know about privacy and your data:

As a pregnant woman you can:

  • Complete some basic social and medical information, for example details of allergies/special requirements and details of your birth plan, and add these to your maternity notes by submitting them via the app/website. This is optional – it will not affect your care if you choose not to.
  • Follow your 'Personal Care Plan' through each week of your pregnancy to keep track of planned events and know what to expect as your pregnancy progresses.
  • Keep a personal pregnancy diary and upload photos for your exclusive personal use.
  • View 'My Maternity Record', these are the maternity notes recorded during your Midwife/hospital visits.
  • Provide 'Feedback' to your maternity care provider where this is available (this varies between midwifery care providers)
  • Generate a 'one-time access code' for your GP to access your maternity record (this does NOT include access to your personal diary or photos).
  • Receive email, SMS or push notification reminders about maternity appointments where these are available (this varies between midwifery care providers). This is an optional setting within the profile screen of the app/website – by default it is turned off.

As the parent of a baby who has been transferred to a neonatal care unit you can:

  • Use the app/website to view data entered into your baby's electronic patient record by the medical staff looking after your baby. You can view photos and comments about your baby's progress as recorded by the staff at the neonatal unit.
  • As a parent, you can give permission to relatives to allow them access to your baby's information via the app.

Only authorised medical staff who are responsible for your care, or that of your baby, will have access to the data you provide via the app/website. The contents of your personal diary and photos you upload are yours alone and cannot be accessed by anyone other than yourself; the medical team and any GP for whom you generate a one-time access code cannot see this information.

Clevermed Ltd, who provide the app/website under permission from your hospital, will use your email address and phone number to allow you access to the system. To ensure the safety of your medical information Clevermed maintains an audit trail of access which includes details of user credentials, IP address, device status/type and access times. Clevermed will not use your personal information entered via this app/website or transfer it outside the EU for any purpose unless you have consented to this or the hospital (who is the Data Controller) has instructed this.

Your mobile phone number will be used by our UK based SMS supplier 'Text Anywhere' to send you a text message containing a verification code to allow you secure access to your maternity or neonatal notes via the app/website. This supplier is bound by data protection legislation and will not use your mobile number for any other purpose.

To ensure availability of this service Clevermed uses crash analytics software provided by Microsoft to monitor performance of the app. This allows problems with the app to be identified and resolved quickly. This information is anonymous and does not identify you in any way.

This app/website may contain links to third party websites; you should review the privacy statements of third party websites so that you can understand how those websites collect, use and share your data. Clevermed Ltd is not responsible for the privacy statements or other content on websites outside of the Clevermed Ltd and Clevermed Ltd family of websites.

The data passing to and from the hospital records is encrypted using 4096 bit-SSL encryption and sent via HTTPS over the internet. If you are using the app, a view of your information is temporarily saved to your device while you are logged in; this data is removed from the device when you click 'Logout' via the profile or passcode screens. Access to the app/website is password controlled, it is your responsibility to keep passwords secret and use a device screen lock. All the data you see using this service is held on secure servers used by the hospital for the electronic medical records.

Access continues until you request access to be cancelled, the service is rendered obsolete or the medical records reach the end of the retention period. You can manage your access using the Profile screen with the app/website. For information on how long your medical records are kept, contact the medical records team at your hospital.

The data viewed or submitted via the app/website is stored as part of your medical records or those of your baby. Pregnancy diary information and photographs are stored with the medical records but access is specially restricted. To exercise your rights under the data protection legislation, for example to access or obtain a copy of your information or request something to be corrected please contact the medical records team at your hospital.

From time to time we may update this privacy notice, you can check for updates at any time by following the privacy notice link within the app or on the website.

At the end of the registration process you will be directed to the 'Edit Profile' page where you can choose whether to opt-in to receive email, SMS or push notification appointment reminders and important service messages. You can change your preferences at any time by editing these settings from the profile menu.

Not all midwifery providers offer appointment reminders in any or all formats and those which do may revoke this service at any time so you should not rely on receiving a reminder, even if you have had one for a previous appointment with the same provider. Clevermed is unable to warrant that the service will be uninterrupted and therefore does not accept liability for missed appointments resulting from non-receipt of a reminder.

Maternity appointment reminders contain details of the appointment e.g. time, date and location of the appointment. From time to time you may receive service messages solely for the purpose of administering the application.

Push notifications are messages which pop up on your device(s) even when you don't have the app open – this function is coming to this app soon. Push notifications are managed by our Microsoft Notification Hub; this service has access to a unique device/user identifier but to no other personal identifiable information. The content of these messages is distributed in coded form and is decoded when they reach your personal device.

If you opt-in to receive appointment reminders, you are accepting the risks inherent in communication over the internet. There is some risk that email, SMS or push notification communication can be intercepted in transmission or misdirected resulting in the contents being disclosed to unauthorised third parties.